Book review: Bared to You

BaredtoYou-200x300Hi everyone,

Today’s book review will be on  a book by Sylvia Day called Bared to You. Price: $11.99 CAD at Walmart

Synopsis:

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness…

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds… and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart…

My review:

When I first read the synopsis of this book, I thought to myself ” Great another 50 shades copycat” I was never a really big fan of that series, so when I went searching for a book to read, I was hoping to find a romance novel without all the kinks. ” Never judge a book by it’s cover” That is exactly what I did when I first came across this novel, but since I was determined to buy a book that day, I bought it anyways in hopes that I was wrong about my assumptions.

Bared to You is is narrated in first person by one of the main characters Eva Tramell. Eva moves to New York in hopes to start her career  as a executive assistant at a advertising firm. Joining her in New York city, is her hilarious bi sexual best friend Cary. Eva and Cary are roommates living is a luxurious apartment in Manhattan courtesy of Evas step father.

During her first weekend living in New York, Eva decides to visit her new work place at Crossfire in order to get a feel for the place that she will soon be working at. While helping a woman who dropped her belongings, Eva bumps into the man that soon will win over her heart. Gideon Cross, is a self made millionaire who owns all sorts of businesses throughout Manhattan.

With out giving too much a way, this novel is a roller coaster full of emotions. Early on in the book you learn that both Eva and Gideon experienced traumatizing ordeals during their younger years. Those experiences cause a lot of problems for them. Eva from the get go is attracted to Gideon, who can blame her? Gideon is the CEO of his  own company and he is only 28. His wealth is not the reason she is attracted to him though, Eva herself comes from a wealthy family. Her step father is a high powered millionaire. I found this aspect interesting because in most romantic novels, one character is wealthy and the other isn’t. There was a lot more to this book than I expected, the author does a great job is describing all the characters which in the end made this book a good read.

Final thoughts.

I enjoyed reading this book, as similar as it was to the  50 Shades series, I feel that this book had more to offer besides sex. Don’t get me wrong, there is a lot of that in this book but not as much. What I found the most interesting is the troubles that each of them experienced and how they dealt with it. If you are looking for a light read, this is the book for you. I know this is not a lengthy review, I want you guys to form your own opinions.

If you have read this book, let me know what you thought of it without spoiling it 🙂

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

