Book review: Something Borrowed By Emily Griffin

20121215-052756.jpgOn today’s post I’m going to review Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin.
About this book:
Something Borrowed tells the story of Rachel, a young attorney living and working in Manhattan. Rachel has always been the consummate good girl—until her thirtieth birthday, when her best friend, Darcy, throws her a party. That night, after too many drinks, Rachel ends up in bed with Darcy’s fiancé.

Although she wakes up determined to put the one-night fling behind her, Rachel is horrified to discover that she has genuine feelings for the one guy she should run from. As the September wedding date nears, Rachel knows she has to make a choice. In doing so, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren’t always neat, and sometimes you have to risk all to win true happiness. Something Borrowed is a phenomenal debut novel that will have you laughing, crying, and calling your best friend.”

 

My review: I found this book really interesting. For the first time, I actually felt bad for the person who is considered the wrong doer. There are many reasons why I sympathies with  the main character Rachel,early on in the book you find out how she puts everyone’s needs before hers, she always does the right thing.As for Darcy ( her best friend from her childhood) the author does a great job making it difficult for the reader to like her even though she’s technically the one that we are supposed to feel bad for. There are a few things that you will find out about Darcy that make you question if she deserved what she had coming.

I was indifferent about Dex, to me I was more interested in how Darcy and Rachel’s friendship would be affected by Rachel’s betrayal.Through out most of the book, I was making excuses to why what Rachel was doing wasn’t, she did meet Dex first and has always had feelings for him.  It’s almost like the author wants you too root for Rachel and Dex. I do admit that I was glad that Rachel finally decided to go after something she really wants instead of backing down. I don’t want to give too much away so I will end it by saying that I really enjoyed this book. Some of the things that happened were unexpected, I especially love how the author makes you think about the situation at hand instead of placing blame right away. I definitely recommend this book. It can be found at any major book store and online at Amazon.com.

If you have read this book and want to share your thoughts on it, please leave it in the comment box below.

Discussion question: Would you risk your friendship ( a friend that you have known your whole life) for love?

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

