Movie review: Safe Haven

20130304-042052.jpgMovie: Safe Haven

Rating: 3.5/5

MOVIE DESCRIPTION
Safe Haven is an affirming and suspenseful story about a young woman’s struggle to love again. The movie is based on the novel from Nicholas Sparks, the best-selling author behind the hit films The Notebook and Dear John. When a mysterious young woman arrives in a small North Carolina town, her reluctance to join the tight knit community raises questions about her past. Slowly, she begins putting down roots, and gains the courage to start a relationship with Alex, a widowed store owner with two young children. But dark secrets intrude on her new life with such terror that she is forced to rediscover the meaning of sacrifice and rely on the power of love in this deeply moving romantic thriller.

My review
Right off the bat I was skeptical about this movie, I think it’s because I expect all movies based on Nicholas Spark books to be the same. They are usually really lovey dovey and are meant to make you cry. When I first saw this trailer I was hoping it would be different than all the other movies before it.  The trailer I watched was short and did not give much away and I did not read any reviews or the synopsis of the book. I basically went in knowing nothing about the book/movie. Before the movie started I already felt bad for dragging my boyfriend a long; the entire time the trailers were on, I was hoping this movie wouldn’t be a complete bust because I knew my boyfriend would tease me about it. All that said, I was pleasantly surprised.
Starting off with the casting choices, Julianne Hough and Josh Duhamel really sold me the movie. They aren’t my favorite actors but they played their respective roles well. I felt their chemistry from the moment they meet in the movie. What surprised me the most was the plot. There was a real message behind it, it wasn’t just about two random strangers meeting in a random city, there was an actual reason for her moving there. Most of the time I find the dialogue in romantic movies cheesy but in this movie, they stayed away from the cheesy lines and really focused on the characters and their interactions. I do have to admit that I found some parts of the movie boring. Some scenes were really random and to me felt like fillers. I haven’t read the book so I don’t really have anything to compare it to but I felt like some of the scenes were not necessary. For those of you who have read this book you already know the different events that happen in this movie, since I never read the book, I was surprised and awed at some of the twists in the movie. I liked the element of surprise because I did not expect what did happen to happen and that is the main reason I liked this movie. It was not predictable and that is really hard to say for a romantic movie.

If  you are browsing for movies to watch and you are a hopeless romantic like me, I recommend this movie for you. Actually I suggest you take your significant other or male friends because my boyfriend also liked it more than he thought he would. He enjoyed the story and all the struggles the main characters were facing. It wasn’t all about the “romance” between them, it was also about how each of us make mistakes and how life is about second chances. I honestly enjoyed this movie more than I thought I would. It wasn’t a tear dropper but there were moments where I felt deeply for the characters. I loved how the author gave the characters real issues that people can relate too. That concludes my review, if you have any thoughts on this movie, feel free to leave them in the comment section below. Thanks for stopping by!

2 comments

  1. Oh, oh! Thanks for the review. I am planning to read the novel first though. Since I don’t have a significant other, I guess I have to drag some of my male friends to watch this with instead. Haha

    1. I want to read the book as well. I need something to compare it to. Most of the time I tend to enjoy the book version better.

      You don’t need to take your male friends per say, anyone will do, at my theater I saw a lot of women with their parents! Hahaha
      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

